I have been browsing recently through Bart Ehrman’s book about Peter, Paul, and Mary Magdalene:The Followers of Jesus in History and Legend only to discover with great dismay and some amazement that Jesus’s anointing by Mary, as narrated in Mark 14, took place in Galilee.

I seem to cherish different recollections from my Sunday school lessons, namely that the anointing narrated by Mark took place in Bethany, which is a few miles away from Jerusalem. In Mark 14:10, Judas goes to the chief priests in order to betray Jesus. Soon after, the disciples make the preparations for the Passover. Everything in the context suggests that Jesus is “hovering” around Jerusalem.

Well, professor Ehrman tries to dissipate some of the confusion about the various Mary’s in the NT, but manages to introduce some confusion about the location where unctio Bethaniae took place.

Here is the passage which made me rub my eyes in disbelief.

I am inclined to think that Bart Ehrman secretly believes in the ubiquity of the historical Jesus. Or otherwise thinks that Jesus could teleport himself (and his disciples) from Galilee to Jerusalem in a matter of seconds.