I am very much intrigued by the argument put forward in this new book, „The Myth of Persecution”, written by Candida Moss.

A few days ago I held in my hand and browsed Frend’s classic book, Martyrdom and Persecution in the Early Church, arguably the best book of its kind.

For the time being, I tend to suspect that the title of the book written by Candida Moss is part of a marketing strategy meant to intrigue and draw (if not incense) readers.

So here I am, a curious and incensed reader, hoping to win a copy of this books with a specious title. I solemnly promise to recant these statements, provided I am given the opportunity to review this book independently on my blog.

P.S. Pastor Jim West, I don’t believe in caprice or luck, so make your choice wisely! 🙂

Zwinglius Redivivus

I’ve been sent a second copy of this very, very well written volume

In The Myth of Persecution, Candida Moss, a leading expert on early Christianity, reveals how the early church exaggerated, invented, and forged stories of Christian martyrs and how the dangerous legacy of a martyrdom complex is employed today to silence dissent and galvanize a new generation of culture warriors.

According to cherished church tradition and popular belief, before the Emperor Constantine made Christianity legal in the fourth century, early Christians were systematically persecuted by a brutal Roman Empire intent on their destruction. As the story goes, vast numbers of believers were thrown to the lions, tortured, or burned alive because they refused to renounce Christ. These saints, Christianity’s inspirational heroes, are still venerated today.

Moss, however, exposes that the „Age of Martyrs” is a fiction—there was no sustained 300-year-long effort by the Romans to persecute Christians…

Vezi articol original 279 de cuvinte mai mult

