Recently I have tried to purchase online a second hand copy of The Apostolic Fathers: A New Translation and Commentary. Volume 4. Ignatius of Antioch, by Robert M. Grant, but after intense search I am positive that I will sooner discover the elixir of life or the philosopher’s stone than unearth a used copy of this book. It simply cannot be found. And I suspect that there are higher chances of my flying to Mars than of this book being reprinted any time soon.

Alas, no library on a radius of 500 miles around Bucharest seems to have it.

What do you do in such cases?

I think one should not become too depressed for lack of adequate academic resources.

Big boys don’t cry. Not even when they end up stranded on an island with no books. They write messages, seal them in a bottle and let them float in the ocean, putting their trust in the good will and chivalry of a captain Hook and his band of pirates.