Today I arrived in Oxford for the VTBS at St. Anne’s College. Since the inaugural lecture will be given only tomorrow afternoon, I used the day to visit The Kilns with my sister, my brother-in-law and my friend Cristian Ispir. Baby Rafi, my little niece, had the great honor of accompanying us and the great privilege of visiting C.S. Lewis’s home before reading any of his books or seeing any of the Narnia films. Not because she would not like, but because, being only 10 months, she can’t yet apply herself to these highly demanding intellectual pursuits.

At the moment when I am writing this post I don’t really have much time and energy to describe in details my impressions. Oxford is so peaceful (because most of the students are gone) and I count it such great joy to be here for the next two weeks.

I did not expect to visit The Kilns today, so I am much indebted to Cristian for coming up with the idea of going to see the pond close the Lewis’s house. We wanted to see only the pond and see the Kilns from the street, but tt so happened that Debbie Higgens, the Resident Director at The Kilns, and another Lewis scholar were in the garden and we could inquire whether it was possible to take a peek at the house. Normally, extended tours are available only by appointment, so we were very blessed to be given a short tour in the two main rooms of the house: the common room and the dining room.

I was sorry that I did not take with me a copy of the Romanian translation of Reflections on the Psalms. Since I do have one spare copy with me in Oxford, I will be glad to donate it to the library at the Kilns, which serves as a center for Lewis scholarship.

Below you can see a few pictures.