IMG_0094

Among the numerous interesting artifacts which cast light on Biblical history, is the Black Obelisk, showing the earliest depiction of an Israelite. In one of the registers, king Jehu (or one of his emissaries) is shown paying tribute to the Assyrian king Shalmaneser III. The obelisk is on display at the British Museum, in the Assyrian galleries.

Apparently, the Assyrian rulers were not aware that Jehu had overthrown the dynasty of Omri and founded one of his own.

This odd name can be found also in an annalistic text which recounts the eighteenth year (=841 BC) of Shalmaneser’s reign.

In the eighteenth year of my rule I crossed the Euphrates for the sixteenth time. Hazael of Damascus (Imērišu) put his trust upon his numerous army and called up his troops in great number, making the mountain Senir (Sa-ni-ru), a mountain, facing the Lebanon, to his fortress. I fought with him and inflicted a defeat upon him, killing with the sword 16,000 of his experienced soldiers. I took away from him 1,121 chariots, 470 riding horses as well as his camp. He disappeared to save his life (but) I followed him and besieged him in Damascus (Di-maš-qi), his royal residence. (There) I cut down his gardens (outside of the city, and departed). I marched as far as the mountains of Hauran (šadêe matḪa-ú-ra-ni), destroying, tearing down and burning innumerable towns, carrying booty away from them which was beyond counting. I (also) marched as far as the mountains of Ba’li-ra’si which is a promontory (lit.: at the side of the sea) and erected there a stela with my image as king. At that time I received the tribute of the inhabitants of Tyre, Sidon, and of Jehu, son of Omri (Ia-ú-a mâr Ḫu-um-ri-i). (ANET, p. 280).

